An Open Letter to The Town That Built Me

Dear Person,

Well, actually it should be said “Dear Place”, Thank you for shaping me. Thank you for allowing to grow and have an appreciation for you. But you don’t feel like home anymore. Getting away from you was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. You probably ask, “Why say such hateful things?” well, its quite simple. I grew up in a place that I didn’t belong. I was made fun of. I was belittled and I was made to feel like I never fit in. Because I didn’t. Thank God I found a group of friends that accepted me and we formed our own band of misfits. Literally, a band. We were the band. If it weren’t for my friends, I would never have made it away from you. To this day it makes my skin crawl just thinking about having to come home and visit. I never did anything to anyone. No I am not trying to play the victim. This is the  truth. I would never move back even if someone paid me. Why move back to my “home” when all the people who made me miserable never left. They never will leave. They are going to stay there and procreate, making mini bullies and things will never change. So why would I come home to a place where I was looked down upon, where I wasn’t liked, because I wasn’t like them. You are nothing but a giant sorority. I want nothing to do with that. I know that no matter where I go in life, there will always be someone who doesn’t like me, but when I have children, I don’t want them to have to endure that. I want them to be able to create their own identity. I don’t want you to have an impact on their lives like you did mine. So I will never return. I hope you don’t take it personal, It wasn’t you, just the offspring that you spun off. This isn’t good-bye, this is see you later, because I always have to come back to visit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

