An Open Letter To My Best Friend’s Future Husband

Dear Person,

I know that we aggravate each other. I know that we have an unspoken war forever going on inside our heads towards one another, always hoping that she will pick one of us over the other. But I want you to know, that is going to come to an end. I am graciously backing out of this war and taking my place where I belong. I knew this day was coming and honestly I have been dreading having to face it. You see, My best friend has always been there. In the middle of the night crying because I had no where to go, she was there. When we would go months at a time not speaking to one another, she was still there. When she calls me frantic and I drop what I am doing and get to her as fast as possible. When she doesn’t want to face her fears, I take her hand and we face them together. When I came along, I vowed to help her raise her child, and that’s what I have done, and am still doing. You see, this is our cycle, this is how we are. We are conjoined as one and we hold on to each other, because we are stronger together than apart. I want you to know, that this process, of me splitting us apart has been difficult. It started when I got married, and I knew the day would come when she got married that our “divorce” would be finalized. You are taking my place as her best friend. You are replacing me as her go to when her world is falling apart. I don’t think you realize the shoes you are about to have to fill. I want you to promise me that no matter how hard times get between you two, that you will NEVER let her down or go. I want you to promise me that you will fight for her, stand up for her, and respect her no matter what happens. No matter if your parents don’t like her. No matter if you think that all of it isn’t worth it, It is so worth it. You have no idea the gem that you are holding. I want you to be sure of who you are and what you want before you agree to any of this. I want you to be careful in your decisions, because you will be affecting my best friend. Yes, I am stepping back and giving you my place, but do not think for a second, that I will not fly off the handle at you and knock you out of my spot if you mess up. That is how this works, I am not gone forever, just merely in the shadows, I will always be there to give you advice and help you along the way, after all, she is very difficult. But I can promise you this, no one knows her like I do. It is as when we were born, God split us in half and we were destined to find each other. Honestly, she is my soul mate, not in that weird way or anything, but we get each other like no one else does. We know what the other is thinking and feeling from miles away. I am trusting you with one of the most precious things in my life. Because if she loves you, then I love you too.

Leave a Reply

