An Open Letter To My Mom

Dear Mom,

Thank you. Thank you for teaching me how to take control and make things happen. Thank you for showing me that no matter how bad the situation is, you have to keep going. Thank you for raising my brothers and me to be respectful, successful, people. Thank you for doing everything by yourself. You raised 3 children in a nice house and we never went without. You taught me what a parent should be. You taught me that growing up means sacrifice after sacrifice, especially when it comes to your children. Mom, thank you for never giving up on us. Thank you for teaching me that as a woman, I never need to depend on a man. Yes, you instilled this in me, but what I don’t think you realize is, I learned how to change a door knob by watching you. I learned how to strip wood and re-stain it by watching you. I learned how to hold my head up and keep pushing forward by watching you. I learned how to make things happen by never taking no for an answer by watching you. I don’t think you realize how much you have taught me by my simply watching. All those times I called you crazy for whatever project you were working on, I was really saying, “Wow, my mom is an amazing person.” Thank you for being both mom and dad when ours decided he wanted other things in life. Thank you for holding me together when you were falling apart. Thank you for teaching me that in order to grow, you have to go through the ups and downs in life and the truly great rise from nothing. Thank you for allowing me to make my own mistakes, but never going far enough away to stop me if I was about to royally screw up. Thank you for loving me, even when I was being a spoiled brat. Thank you for teaching me how to care for others who have less than I do, for teaching me, no matter how much I have, I should still be humble, that no matter how little I have, I should still give back. Thank you for never letting me down, even when you felt like you had. I know we have had our differences, but at the end of the day, you are the one who stood by my side, even when you knew I was wrong, even if you didn’t agree, even if you knew I was about to mess up. Thank you for being the amazing person you are, even if I don’t show it or tell you often, Thanks Mom.

Leave a Reply

